Getting Wiser // Reflections on the Everyday

I love especially good questions.  In my facilitation work, I spend a lot of time crafting questions that will engage and move people…the wicked question (more on that in another blog). 

 “So what are you going to do about it?”  Interesting what becomes the trigger for us to make significant changes in our lives.  This was the question from a friend that moved me to action along the path of becoming more fully alive through improved fitness.

 It is not that I didn’t know what needed to be done and even how to do it.  Previously I worked in the recreation field and taught fitness… intellectually I knew what needed to happen.  What was missing was the motivation and determination to follow through.

 There had been several events leading up to the moment of the question that caused me to realize that I was denying myself all kinds of opportunities and connections with people because of my poor fitness.  These events and the question caused me to realize I was tired of not living the life I wanted to live and that I would no longer make excuses or avoid situations that forced me come to terms with who I was in my totality – emotionally, spiritually and physically.

 I have been down this path so many times in the past… so what was different this time? 

 I admitted that I could not do this alone.  The most important part of my journey was recognizing that I have a wide network of people who care and support me. The question was posed on June 26 of last year and on July 1st I had my first session with a trainer.  Seeking out help and support has led to a wonderful relationship with my trainer (and now my acupuncturist and massage therapist…)

 I recognized that this is not a short term project.  This is the rest of my life and the journey is about health and adventure. 

 For the first time in my working career I made a commitment to myself to recognize the importance of making ‘me’ a priority.  To get to this place I needed to make a commitment to someone else so that I would not let other things ‘creep’ into me time.  My schedule with my trainer means that I need to leave work early twice a week.  I am unwavering in my decision that these sessions take priority over everything else.  This time is non-negotiable and it is an amazing feeling to stand steadfast in this commitment to myself.  Now I am at a place where the commitment is truly to me and not to my trainer.

 So what have I learned so far?

 I am amazed by the disconnection I have with my body.  Through lack of attention and awareness, I cannot feel certain muscles so have no idea if I am moving them.  I have to learn what it feels like when they are engaged.  It causes me to think about those parts of my life and people that I don’t pay attention to and how easy it is to move through life unaware of the disconnection.  I am learning that it is important to be conscious and intentional in maintaining connections.  I remember working for an amazing leader (during a secondment from my job).  I worked really hard accomplishing a lot for the organization.  One day he stopped me and indicated that while I was doing great work my time with him was not about getting a lot done.  He asked me a question that also caused me to take a very different path.  “Who do you want to be?  And how can I help you become that person you want to be?”  And just as I am relearning how to move my body to become fully functional, the same is true for other parts of my life to ensure that I do not miss out on the wholeness of becoming who I want to be. 

 Working out is a living demonstration of systems thinking and how everything is connected.  As I experience new ways of moving it has caused reactions in other parts of my body leading to acupuncture and massage therapy.  I believe some of the tightness is a result of old ways of being trying to hold onto the familiar and fighting to maintain old bad habits;  reminding me that it takes time and commitment to allow change and the new ways of being to take hold.  Also am learning about the unintended consequences of poor eating.  I am amazed at how my strength and balance are affected when I eat foods that are not healthy and how immediate the reaction is.

 As I work out I am noticing a shift in my internal self talk.  Sweating is leading to positive self talk and encouragement.  On occasion I have used the word “can’t” and then immediately prove to myself I can.  As I gain strength I can see how much more I can do and am able to celebrate this progress.  Through shedding old ways of doing things and limiting self beliefs I am moving forward with a new kind of wisdom – becoming wiser – which opens up to living life fully!

This entry was posted in Appreciation, Learning, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting Wiser // Reflections on the Everyday

  1. Yangcious says:

    Getting wiser is so wise a way to address the issue of physical training. I found the metaphor of disconnection between you and some of your muscles very creative and enlightening. Am thinking about an asessment of my dis/connection with my muscles and fats, some of which I can see but not feel.

    Thanks for your sharing, quite inspiring!

    • Thank you for being part of the moment and asking the simple and straightforward question that started me on this path. Another wise person once told me that we would never know the true impact that we have on the lives of other people – just as you will never truly know how much your question has made a difference in my journey and how I live my life. Keep asking the important questions. (and maybe I am actually discovering the true wisdom of Yangcious:)

      • Yangcious says:

        I am starting to realize the simple and straight foward questions weigh much on the path of your life/lives, from our conversation and your blog articles. I feel very much honored and valuable that my presence and probing makes a difference. Maybe this is what Yangcious was meant to do, alter people’s lives through questioning….

      • Definitely inspires and moves others. When I reflect on the attributes of powerful questions (from the Art of Hosting) I feel it describes a lot of our conversations. I also believe they are the same attributes that you bring to your work with children/youth.
        A powerful question…
         Is simple and clear
         Is thought provoking
         Generates energy
         Focuses inquiry
         Challenges assumptions
         Opens new possibilities
         Evokes more questions
        I look forward to the next powerful question!

  2. Lynn says:

    Hi Theresa,
    I fully agree that putting ourselves on our to do list is an important part of working towards a healthier lifestyle. Having “me”time in my day helps me to connect to my real truths. With that I have a greater sense of self respect when I stop and acknowledge all my efforts. You’re doing a real good thing Theresa by honouring yourself as being important, and making the conscious effort to keep working towards a better you. It takes strength and courage to keep that commitment to yourself. I’m proud of you. I know how easy it is to want to fall back into old habits. I believe you have the spirit to keep going forward my friend. For me, living a healthier lifestyle helps bring more relaxation and rejuvenation to my days and makes me feel that little more connected to myself. This not only benifits me, but all others and things I choose to put my time and energy towards. You make such a positive difference in peoples lives Theresa. I’m really glad to see that you’ve included yourself on your list. keep up the great work:)
    Lynn

    • Wow Lynn – I am so honoured to be connected with you. I love your comment about self respect and am moved to think that I have not given much attention to respecting self. I have always come from a place of deep respect for others and am now awakening to the fact that I may have missed the foundation of where it actually all begins. I have been thinking alot about strength and courage over the past several years and have been fortunate to connect with so many people that embody these principles – yourself included. Will take the opportunity in a future blog to reflect more about the courageous people and the difference they make.

Leave a comment